Why Blog About Politics

Why blog about politics I ask myself ? When this blog is supposed to be about beauty ,fashion ,travel & lifestyle.

Politics effects everyday life, decision are made about your life whether you like it or not.The political structure of Britain is one of little input from the people who are governed.The political class govern and everyone else is just met to follow. Its truthly patience .I am amaze there’s not a revolution tomorrow.

I remember political decision effecting my everyday life as a kid.I remember the local library being bulldozed, cause apparently to many drug dealers were peddling there trade outside. Eye roll.

The library was called Moss Side Library , it was a safe haven for the local kids. A place where the gang banger and drug dealers didn’t both to go inside the library ,as that wasn’t there thing. There business was making quick fast money. Me and my friends were in the business of trying to stay out of the boys with guns way .

I was totally devastated when the Local Government knocked it down.( Moss Side Precinct Shopping Centre was also knocked down, as it was attach to the library) Its was a great place and all the adults put off the gang bangers from coming in and causing trouble .Plus there wasn’t any bullying unlike in the Moss Side youth club, me and my big sister had to stop going there as there were too many bullies.

 

Me and my big sister had to walk 45 minutes to the next library , my mum couldn’t give us bus fare as single mother ,she was skint. And my dead beat father was hiding out in Africa ignoring hes responsibility like a lot of men do.Eye roll .Hope your not resting in peace Dad.

We use to struggle to the library, rain or shine , in the dead of winter even when it was dark .I must admit it was hard and scary .It was 45 minutes there and 45 minutes back on foot. Plus the gangbangers were also out at night also day too.

Lucky we survive but I wouldn’t recommend 8 and 10 year old walking around crime infested Moss Side in that era or any other area like that.It wasn’t safe .But you know Government didnt give a shitty about the local kids.

And funnily enough that library was never replaced. Thats politics for you .

Thats why I blog about politics, as you can’t escape it in your everyday life ,even you kids can’t escape it.

If anyone in any doubt just how dangerous Moss Side was, Benji Stanley was shot at 14 years old. I remember playing in the Moss side swimming pool with Benji few years before .He was a friend of a friend.We must have been about 10 or 11 years old. He was shot dead a few years later at a local takeaway.

Benji-Stanley

 

Rest in Peace Benji

The body countdown is endless in Moss side and the neighbouring areas.

You can imagine just why having that library close down really effect me and the kids of the area.I will never forgive the local government for that decision.Thats one of the things that made me care about politics. Its literally, you even roll with the political class and know what decisions will effect you and your family .Or you will get rolled over.

Fight the power that be.

To be continued.

Leave a Reply

