Nikon D5100 DSLR camera review

I have decided to review my Nikon D5100 DSLR camera.Which I have had since 2014 .I have only started using it in the last year as I couldn’t work out how to get live view on it. I managed to work it out and how to put it on live view and I’ve started filming with it. I was grey dark patchy colour on the normal setting so I had to switch the setting to vivid ,so the camera would pick up the colour of my skin properly.I would recommend that setting for Dark skin people on this camera. I also fiddled about with the contrast and Saturation to improve the video. Its a lot better.

But I still can’t say the Nikon D5100 camera films dark skin well,in low light setting as far as I can see.The video below was film at night in my kitchen,when all the kitchen lights were on the normal standard setting.Its doesnt seem to pick up dark skin well and isnt focusing very well on my dark skin.

Even though on heartifb.com a independent blogger website, says this camera cope well in low light conditions.

http://heartifb.com/2013/03/26/5-great-digital-cameras-fashion-bloggers/

They should have said for folks with light skin e.g Caucasian skin. If you are of the chocolate variety like me, you will notice you will appear like a bit of a bloop of darkness on the video.Shadows appear on your skin,like you have complexion problems,that you don’t have.Even if you film with the lights on. Banging my head against a brick wall.

I had to put a spot light on my face just to film my next YouTube Vlog reviewing DuduOsun Black Soap and I ‘m still not happy.The video just not sharp enough.

I only have one lens but I will just have to keep playing with camera settings to see if I can improve the sharpness of the video. I personally think Nikon DSLR cameras are not very good for taking pictures or filming video’s of dark skin people. I had the same problem with taking a photo of myself.I looked washed out and grey.Picture below when I hadn’t used vivid setting on the camera.

_DSC0024

Vivid setting on this camera is essential for dark skin folk. The setting since to be tailor to light skin people.

Most Dark skin people since to film with Canon 600D .Some reviews online have mention that Nikon colour skin tones aren’t as realistic like Canon and I ‘m thinking they might be right. Anyway the struggle continues.I like the camera but I won’t buy another Nikon DSLR. Next one will be Canon.

There quite a few articles discussing the bias towards light skin online here a link to one.

Please share and comment.

Leave a Reply

